Author Topic: How to approach this project? (remotely controlled LED)  (Read 3402 times)

Offline Abstr7ctTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Learner
How to approach this project? (remotely controlled LED)
« on: July 17, 2013, 06:16:42 pm »
Hi, everyone.

I am an EE student and I'm still a beginner hobbyist in electronics; I don't have much experience in working with different components and ICs. The most ambitious project that I worked on was a basic arithmetic calculator based on a PIC microcontroller and a 16×2 LCD display screen. The program was over 200 lines and it was written using MikroC IDE. I know about transistors and op-amps and have used them in simple applications like switching and analog signal comparison, respectively. 

This time, I would like to build another simple project in a short time. The idea is to have a remote control with one button that switches on/off a tricolor LED from a distance of 2 meters at least. Any ideas or sources that can teach how to approach this problem? I would like you have your thoughts rather than jumping quickly to a search engine for help.

Thanks.

Offline Bloch

• Supporter
Re: How to approach this project? (remotely controlled LED)
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2013, 07:24:51 pm »
The idea is to have a remote control with one button that switches on/off a tricolor LED from a distance of 2 meters at least. Any ideas or sources that can teach how to approach this problem? I would like you have your thoughts rather than jumping quickly to a search engine for help.

Thanks.

Wireless ?

http://dk.farnell.com/infrared-emitters and http://dk.farnell.com/infrared-receivers

Offline ben_r_

• Frequent Contributor
  • A Real Nowhere Man
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2013, 10:30:19 pm »
Whats the application?

You know you can buy something like this already made for dirt cheap now right? LINK
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success!

Offline Paul Price

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2013, 01:59:08 am »