Author Topic: 3D printer for robot parts?  (Read 1070 times)

Offline CromulentTopic starter

3D printer for robot parts?
« on: June 22, 2024, 02:51:15 pm »
I want to make a simple robot and was thinking about 3D printing the parts for it. The problem is I'm a complete newbie when it comes to 3D printers.

Can anyone suggest a decent 3D printer that will last a couple of years at least? My budget is flexible. I also use a Mac so I'd like it to work with that.

Offline SanctePieDecime

• Contributor
  • If it ain't Baroque, you should fix it
Re: 3D printer for robot parts?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2024, 06:22:59 pm »
I have an Ender 3 printer made by Creality that has lasted me several years. You can download the slicer for Mac. I personally do not use the Creality slicer, I use the Cura slicer by Ultimaker that works with my 3D printer; that also has a Mac download option.

It is high quality, but there is a lot of learning and tuning to do to optimize the quality such as the speed the axes move at, how far the filament extrudes, optimum bed and nozzle temperatures for different filaments, and so on.

I was printing new knobs to replace ones that were missing on an old analog oscilloscope I purchased about a year ago and that involved printing some very tiny teeth to grip onto a potentiometer head. It took some tuning of the printing settings, but I was able to get them to print really well. The knobs slide on snugly without having to be forced and the teeth engage the potentiometer knob enough that I have no concern of it ever slipping.