Author Topic: Please MS just go to hell...  (Read 39619 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Please MS just go to hell...
« Reply #300 on: August 16, 2021, 09:55:57 pm »
What does a "real" workstation consist of then? I am eager to know this  :-DD

Well, I remember that our old Apollo WORKSTATIONS ran Mentor PCB CAD software shipped on those fun tape cartridges. Does that count?

Offline mansaxel

• Super Contributor
  • SA0XLR
    • My very static home page
« Reply #301 on: August 16, 2021, 10:24:18 pm »

In my mind, it's a minimum 32-bit desktop machine, preferably RISC architecture, NOT made by Intel, running natively in Network Byte Order, with a POSIX compliant OS, sporting X11 graphical UI.

Typical examples are nearly all SparcStations, RS/6000 43p boxes, PA-RISC machines running H-PUKES (but to offset that abomination, they have to have a GPIB adapter)  and the like.

Linux or shudder Windows does not qualify. Especially not on i386.

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor
« Reply #302 on: August 16, 2021, 10:28:26 pm »
I agree. As I'm sure you know I formerly wrangled SPARCstations. Throwing all the poo into the bucket your life hasn't sucked until you've tried installing early Cadence Virtuoso releases on 10 netbooted SPARCstation 10's with only local swap disks over a 10base2 NFS shared CDROM drive with caddies. Even tar was quicker off the formely nodded to QIC tapes.

I was quite happy to use windows NT after that :)

Offline mansaxel

• Super Contributor
  • SA0XLR
« Reply #303 on: August 16, 2021, 10:42:53 pm »
I agree. As I'm sure you know I formerly wrangled SPARCstations. Throwing all the poo into the bucket your life hasn't sucked until you've tried installing early Cadence Virtuoso releases on 10 netbooted SPARCstation 10's with only local swap disks over a 10base2 NFS shared CDROM drive with caddies. Even tar was quicker off the formely nodded to QIC tapes.