Author Topic: Help me figure which meters to get: Fluke 289 or Extech MM570A plus second meter  (Read 13565 times)

Offline wadeTopic starter

Hi All,

It's time for me to get a serious DMM. I want a good, accurate meter and ideally a decent second meter. My thoughts were as follows:

Option 1: An Extech MM570A and a BK Precision 2712 ; Cost is a little under $500 USD.
Option 2: Fluke 289 (no second meter with this option) ; Cost is about $600 USD.

My budget, ~$600 USD, will allow for one of the two options above. I am open to other suggestions. I am a hobbyist that is getting serious about my electronics projects, so I want to stick with good equipment. I'm sure you guys have a ton of opinions on this. I wish to make a decision by Monday, 09/03/2012. Thanks!

-Wade

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
Option 2: Fluke 289 (no second meter with this option) ; Cost is about $600 USD.

Current ebay auctions has two new Fluke 289 with a Buy It Now option of $333 each.  So if you can stretch your budget another 10%, you can have two of them.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/221118304452

http://www.ebay.com/itm/221118302425

I can't vouch for the seller.

Or get one Fluke 289 and then get a Fluke 87V (used) for about $150-$175 off ebay to stay under your $600 budget.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2012, 11:25:12 pm by retiredcaps »

Offline ModemHead

• Frequent Contributor
  • No user-serviceable parts inside.
    • Mr. ModemHead
Are you sure you need a Fluke 289? It's big, heavy and slow to boot up. I'd hate it if that were my only DMM. As a serious hobbyist, you might be better served with one really good multimeter you can have confidence in, like an 87V or one of its competitors. Take care of it and never let it leave your workbench. Use the rest of your budget for one (or more!) cheaper units. You can never have too many DMMs.

Full disclosure: I own a 289. But I never grab it first.

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor