Author Topic: Another DS1052E thread  (Read 19925 times)

Offline SuperMiguelTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Another DS1052E thread
« on: February 23, 2011, 06:00:59 pm »
So is the DS1052E really the best scope for the price?

Looking for a good scope in the $500 range. Im an EE student and i want it to last for my entire studies.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2011, 06:05:24 pm by SuperMiguel »

Offline tecman

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Another DS1052E thread
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2011, 06:34:00 pm »
Unless you are getting into something exotic (very HF, for example), the Rigol is a super scope for any student.  Anything you would be doing should easily fall within the 50 or 100 MHz frequency range.  It has a descent UI and is reasonably well built, and is quite portable.  Another consideration should be a used Tektronix 22XX or 23XX family, analog scope.  You can get by for under $ 200.  They are bigger, but good performers, reliable and a very good value used.  They lack some of the modern cursors and math, but you will likely learn more using them.  I still use my older analog scopes 80% of the time, and fire up the digital when I need something more specialized.  Remember that the world ran mostly w/o digital scopes until the 1980s, and many things were invented, developed, tested and troubleshot usiny them.

paul

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2011, 07:29:43 pm »
well i have an Tektronix 2225 Oscilloscope but i find it really big i wanted something a bit smaller .. So you are saying that im better off with my Tektronix 2225 Oscilloscope than the rigol one?

Offline tecman

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2011, 08:27:27 pm »
well i have an Tektronix 2225 Oscilloscope but i find it really big i wanted something a bit smaller .. So you are saying that im better off with my Tektronix 2225 Oscilloscope than the rigol one?