Author Topic: VHDL Case Statement  (Read 12235 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: VHDL Case Statement
« Reply #25 on: March 01, 2021, 07:03:31 pm »
I've seen times when every iteration the names changed!  This is one of the reasons to use labels on everything hierarchical.
This is a really good idea.  I'll incorporate it the next time I write some VHDL.

Use labels everywhere. Every process should have a label. Case statements should have labels. Generate statements should have labels. I even put labels on if/then statements when the nesting gets deep. Labels are your friends!

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: March 01, 2021, 07:06:53 pm »
Thanks again for the suggestions. As I said, I have only been learning VHDL for a week and have a lot to learn. My only other experience with a HDL was the nand2tetris site.

When you find educational sources, make sure they include coverage of VHDL-2008.  That was a significant improvement in the language with many usability features that make life with VHDL much better.

That's true. But I'm often surprised how far behind many courses and tutorials are. Heck, there are still many out there that don't even cover VHDL-93 properly and still stick to the original VHDL-87!

How many pieces of vendor-supplied example code -- in their fucking language-support manuals -- have ancient shit like clk'event and clk = '1' instead of rising_edge(clk)? And have no labels?

It's no wonder that in 2021 the newbies write code as if the language hasn't advanced past its 1987 version.

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: March 01, 2021, 07:38:05 pm »
Thanks again for the suggestions. As I said, I have only been learning VHDL for a week and have a lot to learn. My only other experience with a HDL was the nand2tetris site.