Author Topic: FPGA (Verilog) - RGB pixels to SDRAM using FIFO  (Read 3174 times)

Offline KyristorTopic starter

FPGA (Verilog) - RGB pixels to SDRAM using FIFO
« on: December 29, 2018, 12:15:23 pm »
Hi everyone, let me preface by saying I'm a software engineer by day, and a hobbyist by night.
For this reason working with FPGA is new for me, and I can say it hasn't been the smoothest of roads for me  ;D

There are a few concepts I'm really struggling with, so I hope somebody could help me out.
The basic concept I want to achieve is a 'video frame buffer', the input is a 15bit RGB signal with a pixel clock of around 2.3mhz
the 5 bits deep data needs to be converted to 8 bits deep and stored on the SDRAM. The SDRAM works on a 100mhz clock,
thats why in between I got an Asynchronous FIFO to handle the differents in clock speeds.

What I'm struggling with is how to place this data in the FIFO on every pixel clock pulse, and incrementing the SDRAM address at the same time/clock pulse.
This is the pseudo code I got right now: https://gist.github.com/LarsWerkman/66e65060e44f857ddcabd32aad67abab

My questions is, how can I be sure that I update the pointer of the 'address' consistently before/after a write to the FIFO? For me as a software developer it seems that it will try to do a write around the same time the 'address' will get incremented, causing concurrency issues.

Hope somebody could help me out on this or clarify

Offline asmi

• Super Contributor
Re: FPGA (Verilog) - RGB pixels to SDRAM using FIFO
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2018, 03:01:40 pm »
I suggest you to watch this video about how to work with FIFO: