Author Topic: Cheap 250Mbs Link between Boads  (Read 4696 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Cheap 250Mbs Link between Boads
« on: August 07, 2024, 08:34:45 am »
Hi,
I want to design a new project for the customer, I want to send Data between boards with the least amount of wires, there are around 200 boards and they should send their data to the next Board, and the data rate is around 250Mbs, also the boards are around 50-60cm away from each other,
I was thinking of using RS485, But the data Rate is limited to 50Mb, so I was searching other options, Ethernet is out of question because of the cost, So I thought maybe Select IO from spartan 6 parts Like the LX9 part can come handy, is there a way to make a UART liked interface @250Mbs, what about the Physical layer? should I go with LVDS? any Ideas or hints would help a lot.
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline laugensalm

• Regular Contributor
Re: Cheap 250Mbs Link between Boads
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2024, 10:03:45 am »
You might want to forget any asynchronous solution and use a 10b8b coding on the physical layer, as DVI does. If you're not stuck with Xilinx, you might want to look at the gear boxes in the mach XO[2-3] FPGAs, there are also neat ref designs that work over a Ethernet cable (without the Ethernet protocol). I've also abused DVI-alike protocols over SATA cables and HDMI (off standard) for such hacks with no issues. And not to forget some real time issues with deviating clocks on sender/receiver, but I assume you've thought about that already.

Offline glenenglish

• Frequent Contributor
  • RF engineer. AI6UM / VK1XX . Aviation pilot. MTBr
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2024, 08:12:30 pm »
2 x DDR LVDS pairs
125 MHz clock and  data.  will easily make it between two boards on twisted pair. Use two pairs out of an RJ45.....

any fpga would do that.