Author Topic: Ltspice is a big dissapointment !  (Read 12344 times)

Offline Nominal Animal

• Super Contributor
    • My home page and email address
Re: Ltspice is a big dissapointment !
« Reply #75 on: June 04, 2024, 06:58:12 pm »
Speed, numerical stability and accuracy as well as convergence are much more important for a pro than GUI issues.
Have you actually compared LTspice and ngspice performance, or this based on the old "because LTspice is the market leader, it must be better than the competitors" fallacy?

(While I am only a hobbyist in electronics, I've worked on simulators and HPC quite a lot, more on the development side than on the end user side.)
« Last Edit: June 04, 2024, 07:00:05 pm by Nominal Animal »

The following users thanked this post: Someone, tooki

Offline shapirus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #76 on: June 04, 2024, 09:26:00 pm »
Have you actually compared LTspice and ngspice performance, or this based on the old "because LTspice is the market leader, it must be better than the competitors" fallacy?
I have. LTSpice was much, like several times at least, faster than ngspice. This is only anecdotal evidence, though, so take it with a grain of salt. Proper testing would require setting all simulation parameters to the same values (because defaults may differ), making sure the models are as close as possible, etc.

Ngspice can be very fast, too. Just relax the tolerances, and in practice they can be relaxed quite significantly, almost to the levels that seem unreasonable, and it'll still deliver correct simulation results, only maybe somewhat less precise in some situations, or it may show some artifacts that can be ignored, once you know they aren't real.

The following users thanked this post: Nominal Animal

Offline Nominal Animal

• Super Contributor
« Reply #77 on: June 04, 2024, 10:15:11 pm »
LTSpice was much, like several times at least, faster than ngspice.