Author Topic: Log books / lab books  (Read 8866 times)

qczech

Log books / lab books
« on: March 14, 2013, 10:24:15 pm »
Hello everyone.

I am a second year EEE student. At university we keep laboratory record books for every subject. The point is to note everything you do at the bench. Include some observations, relevant printouts, conclusions and anything that you might later find useful. The idea sounds pretty handy. Gives you an insight to projects done years back.

I am wondering how do hobbyists approach this matter. Do you keep log books? If not, do you wish you did?

How about professionals? Are you requested to keep log books like that in the industry?

Regards.
q

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: Log books / lab books
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 10:29:56 pm »
I am wondering how do hobbyists approach this matter. Do you keep log books? If not, do you wish you did?

Every time I finish a project, I prepare documentation for it as if I were preparing a software project (I come from a software background). I describe in detail how everything works, why I chose this and that, all the way to things like "why is this resistor through-hole", "why that capacitor must have at least this much ESR", charts of poles and zeros, etc. This way, I make sure I understand every little bit of it and there is nothing that's just there because "oh look, this works".

Not quite a log, but I think it accomplishes a similar purpose.

I do not log everything that happens at the bench. It is of no use to me to note that I dumped a bag of 200 PN2907 on the floor and saw once again that Ohm's law does, in fact, work.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2013, 10:34:26 pm by c4757p »
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2013, 10:41:38 pm »
How about professionals? Are you requested to keep log books like that in the industry?