Author Topic: Working From Home - Impacts of Coronavirus  (Read 228824 times)

Offline EEVblogTopic starter

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Working From Home - Impacts of Coronavirus
« Reply #250 on: March 17, 2020, 12:18:58 am »
When a popular item starts at 99c it shows up in everyone's searches and pretty soon you have idiots nickle & diming each other to death days before the auction ends. It almost always sells for much more that way.

I've been doing this for about 20 years, it works. if you know an item will be popular then start is at 99 cents and watch them go nuts. I've never really been caught out by a low final bid price.
Not hard to research previous prices and bids for the same item.

Offline EEVblogTopic starter

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #251 on: March 17, 2020, 12:20:54 am »
I can give a first-hand report on two different Costos near me in the San Diego, California area.
Toilet paper and bottled water got hit hard over a week ago

You can't give away bottled water here. The shelves are full of it. Either that or the supply chains for water are incredibly good.

Offline Nusa

• Super Contributor
« Reply #252 on: March 17, 2020, 12:37:33 am »
I can give a first-hand report on two different Costos near me in the San Diego, California area.

You can't give away bottled water here. The shelves are full of it. Either that or the supply chains for water are incredibly good.
I don't really get it either. I keep a few bottles in the van for road emergencies, and some more in the freezer to put in coolers on road trips. At home I use a reverse osmosis filter to get good tasting tap water, although it's safe enough even without the filter.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #253 on: March 17, 2020, 12:42:10 am »
I've been doing this for about 20 years, it works. if you know an item will be popular then start is at 99 cents and watch them go nuts. I've never really been caught out by a low final bid price.