Author Topic: What happend to 320K resistors ?  (Read 14708 times)

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: What happend to 320K resistors ?
« Reply #50 on: February 20, 2021, 07:40:13 pm »
With SMD you are no hobbyist i think.

I've been using SMD as a hobbyist for at least 15 years. 10 years ago I was etching my own PCBs using toner transfer and routinely using 0603 passives and SOIC chips. I was even able to achieve 0.5mm pitch ICs on self etched boards but that was pushing the process to the limit and was difficult. SOIC though was easy. I can also prototype with SOIC and 0805 passives "Manhattan" style on bare copperclad, and the passives fit nicely soldered between two pads of a normal 0.1" protoboard.

I don't understand the comments about investment, what do you need to invest in? The components are cheap as dirt, you can buy 100 SMD resistors for under $1, they're significantly cheaper than through hole. You don't need much in the way of special tools, I use a $3 set of tweezers and my regular soldering iron. A syringe of liquid flux is helpful at times too.

I remember many years ago people moaning that SMT had killed the electronics hobby. I thought it strange because I never noticed, the transition was almost painless, I didn't throw out my through-hole stuff, I just gradually incorporated more and more SMD as time went on and that's what was available. It wasn't hard, I didn't need any special skills or training, just a few new techniques. It didn't take long for me to prefer SMT because it saved having to drill all those holes.

The following users thanked this post: SilverSolder

Offline floobydust

• Super Contributor
« Reply #51 on: February 20, 2021, 08:44:31 pm »