Author Topic: Electrical Designer jobs  (Read 2194 times)

Offline EnronTopic starter

• Contributor
Electrical Designer jobs
« on: August 28, 2012, 11:57:38 pm »
I see that there are a lot of Electrical Designer jobs in my area. Quite a few are from temp agencies. I was wondering, are most designer jobs only temporary? I saved up enough "screw you" money, and was thinking about quieting my current job, and becoming one. I just don't want to be let go after a couple months.

Electrical Designer's, any thoughts/concerns about your current your past designer positions?

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Electrical Designer jobs
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 12:15:01 am »
I guess that the majority are still permanent jobs.
Temp contract jobs very often get extended beyond the original term, and it's not unusual to be there for many years.
I was a contractor at one job for 5 years, it started as a 1 month term. Most people didn't even know I was a contractor, they assumed I was just full time and 'part of the furniture"
Most contract roles are in the 6m+ category, it's not common to get one for only 1 or two months.
So if you want a bit more security only apply for the 6m+ contract jobs.

Contracting can be nice. You generally get paid more, you get a change of scenery every year or so (without the hassle/stigma of "quitting"), and usually some good time off between jobs.

Beware though, being a contractor can put you into an entirely different tax category and set of rules etc. Varies by country.
It used to be tax advantageous to be a contractor here in Oz, but not so much any more.

Dave.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2012, 12:17:57 am by EEVblog »

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 05:02:19 am »
Beware of the temp agency job offer multiplication effect.