Author Topic: Thinking about leaving the UK  (Read 5483 times)

Offline deadly_penguinTopic starter

Thinking about leaving the UK
« on: August 04, 2024, 06:54:59 pm »
I'm a fairly recent Electronics grad working for a big research centre designing custom instruments and sensors; great job, but my wife and I are looking hard at leaving the UK in the next few years but not sure where.
The wife is American - so that's an option - and Germany looks like there's plenty of choice in Engineering and might be better to live than the States, but beyond that I've no idea.

Has anyone who upped and left got any advice or any regrets?
The content of this post is purely fictional. Any relation to reality is entirely coincidental and was not the author's intent.

Online Andy Watson

• Super Contributor
Re: Thinking about leaving the UK
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2024, 07:22:39 pm »
My regret is not leaving when I had the chance(s). :(

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2024, 09:51:54 pm »
Look towards the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden) and the Netherlands.
An issue you shouldn't overlook is the language barrier, and in all the above English is no problem at all.
Germany, Austria, Switzerland are a bit more difficult. In electronics it's no big deal, but everyday life will be a challenge.
For South Europe, you'll certainly need to learn the local language before even going there.

Good Luck.

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2024, 10:04:42 pm »
Look towards the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden) and the Netherlands.
An issue you shouldn't overlook is the language barrier, and in all the above English is no problem at all.
Germany, Austria, Switzerland are a bit more difficult. In electronics it's no big deal, but everyday life will be a challenge.
For South Europe, you'll certainly need to learn the local language before even going there.