Author Topic: The insanity of Service Agreements and Warranty Parts  (Read 9107 times)

Offline g.lewarneTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
The insanity of Service Agreements and Warranty Parts
« on: August 03, 2016, 04:08:47 pm »
So I work as a Technical Manager for a small independent cinema - I run the shows, do the maintenance, repairs, calibrations that sort of thing.  As a small independent, we would have never been able to outright buy Digital Cinema equipment - each screen of gear is around £150,000 to £200,000 to fit out.  That's a lot of dosh. 

So, we signed up to a funding partnership called a VPF.  I wont get into it, but essentially its a finance deal that is paid off over a 10 year period, during which the equipment is covered by a NOC and essentially unlimited free replacement parts on any non consumable modules. 

Most Digital Cinema, if it is based on DLP (Barco, NEC, Kinoton and some Chritie's) is licensed from and in many cases actually manufactured by Texas Instruments.  The Essential "guts" of a DLP cinema projector are more or less identical regardless of brand.  They even use some of the same firmware modules.  Given its all licensed from TI and/or manufactured by only a handful of companies parts are expensive. Very expensive.

A typical projector has 5 to 6 individual electronic modules, most based on FPGAs, some on ARM cores, and each module has independent self-contained firmware/software packages.  The complexity of the system is really quite astounding.  Each module is on separate boards that can be individually replaced.

In the course of the 4 years we have had our gear, the projector has been virtually rebuilt with new parts at least 3 times.  One module in particular is very prone to random, weird glitchy failures and on ours has been replaced 12 times.  This module is £4000.  12 of them provided by our service provider...in 4 years.