Author Topic: Submersible missing while visiting Titanic wreck  (Read 110758 times)

Online hans

• Super Contributor
Re: Submersible missing while visiting Titanic wreck
« Reply #125 on: June 21, 2023, 07:02:54 pm »
To be fair, if I was an engineer at OceanGate, the brutal honesty is the only product I can deliver. If the CEO doesn't take it, then go ahead and design your own vessel. I won't be putting my signature on it.

I did read about it, but I(we?) don't know the exact details of the encounter. Who resigned who? The lawsuit sounds more like the whistleblower disclosing confidential information. It sounds like a tantrum thrown as a result of the honesty. The guy still could have quit right on the spot.

You're right that in practice that stance isn't as clear cut. Some people may get heavily invested in a project, where they are operating in best beliefs they can turn it around. Maybe they make it their personal or professional mission to carry that out. Also quitting means no mortgage payments. But I think any engineer also knows that having a bit of "screw you money" as Dave has put it in many EEVblogs ago (episode 138), it's a good thing to have. No company should put you in a corner where your personal or professional well-being is affected by their poor decisions.

Look at the VW diesel gate. The mid-level managers and engineers responsible for implementation were also prosecuted. And rightly so. Even if no legal action is taken, such a scandal can take a huge hit to your career. Why risk it for the poor decisions of a CEO? Not worth it.. If the CEO fired Lochridge, then I would almost consider that doing a favor.