Author Topic: PhD in electronics engineering, where, why...  (Read 17667 times)

Offline s.mosfetTopic starter

• Contributor
PhD in electronics engineering, where, why...
« on: June 06, 2011, 01:33:24 pm »
Hi, I'm an italian electronics engineer. I got the bachelor degree, and the next year I'll get the master degree.
Electronics and Physics fascinate me. I'd like to work in the research environment, but i'm not sure about this choice.
In Italy the situation for researchers is not good (see brain drain).
Additionally, in Italy (i don't know if also in other countries) a company sees a PhD like a waste of time, it's not considered as an added value.
I'd like to know where the researcher job is remunerative, and let me know what you advise me to do.

Offline joelby

• Frequent Contributor
Re: PhD in electronics engineering, where, why...
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 02:06:59 pm »
A PhD is mostly useful if you want to become a researcher or get into academia. If you liked the research aspect of your bachelor or masters degree, discuss possible projects with possible supervisors and you'll know if you want to do one or not.

I'm doing a PhD and while I don't particularly want to become an academic, it's a great opportunity because:

• I get paid to work on one project I'm very interested in
  • I can do it pretty much any way I want to do it
  • Other than research milestones and reporting requirements, I'm pretty much left to my own devices

It's a pretty cool lifestyle, really!

Offline s.mosfetTopic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2011, 02:57:24 pm »
In which university you're are getting the PhD?
Is it in electronics?

Offline joelby

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2011, 03:08:22 pm »
I'm studying at the Australian National University. Technically my degree will be in ecology, but the project mostly involves electronics and programming.

Offline onemilimeter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2011, 03:25:52 pm »