Author Topic: PCB Design as a side job  (Read 2335 times)

Offline lutkeveldTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
PCB Design as a side job
« on: February 03, 2015, 09:30:09 pm »
I was wondering: is PCB Design a profitable side job?
I'm still learning, but for in the future.... When I've banged out multiple designs and being able to design one without help.
I see some sites with jobs and multiple 100's of dollars per job, but maybe translated in effort or dollar per hour it's nothing.
As a student, it seems like a cool alternative to kitchen work or filling shelves.

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: PCB Design as a side job
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2015, 09:44:28 pm »
I was wondering: is PCB Design a profitable side job?
I'm still learning, but for in the future.... When I've banged out multiple designs and being able to design one without help.
I see some sites with jobs and multiple 100's of dollars per job, but maybe translated in effort or dollar per hour it's nothing.
As a student, it seems like a cool alternative to kitchen work or filling shelves.
All depends on how:
Complex
Good you are
Quality of your tools
Demanding you client is

It's never a 5 minute job so fee will be reflect this.
Have you ever done a PCB that you are totally happy with?
Then thrown it out for critique by others?
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Some stuff seen @ Siglent HQ cannot be shared.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2015, 09:45:11 pm »
Sure, many people make their living as just PCB designers, and I have even done that myself.
The trick is having a few key clients who trust you and can give you regular work.
If you are out of clients and have to scout around for just layout work, it may not be easy.
But it's a different world now with the likes of freelance etc.
Often you can value-add, like doing BOM's, sorting manufacture, designing test jigs etc.