Author Topic: New Member, Please introduce yourself  (Read 1485764 times)

Offline zsimo

Re: New Member, Please introduce yourself
« Reply #1325 on: December 04, 2013, 10:29:10 pm »
Hello guys I am Simo and I am just signed up! He he this is my first post and .. I am a student of electronics and telecommunication engineering and sometimes I have fun with MCUs and analog circuits.

So ... I noticed a EEVlog's video on YouTube (I have to watch them all), and I jumped over here.

See you on board! :)

Offline bandgap

• Contributor
  • .: no electrons here :.
    • Bandgap.net
« Reply #1326 on: December 06, 2013, 02:27:21 am »
Hi all,

I've been posting some during the last few weeks (mostly in the test gear forum), so I thought I should properly post in this "introduce yourself" thread before I am no longer a new member!  :)

I am located in central North Carolina (Greensboro/Winston-Salem area), but I'm originally from Arkansas. I have a BS and MS in Electrical Engineering and a PhD in Microelectronics-Photonics. Up until this past summer, I was an engineering manager at RF Micro Devices (RFMD) where I managed our Molecular Beam Epitaxy (MBE) engineering group. We mostly made GaAs based heterojunction bipolar transistors (HBTs) and pseudomorphic high electron mobility transistors (pHEMTs). These were commonly used as power amps (in the case of HBTs) and switches (in the case of PHEMTs) in cell phones, although some of these also went into WiFi devices as well.

Dave highlights one of our chips (the RF7161 transmit module) in the teardown video of this cheap LG cell phone:     The semiconductor layers that form the HBTs and pHEMTs in this chip were made by my group - possibly even by me depending on when it was made. (I was a Sr. Engineer for a few years before I was promoted to manager.)