Author Topic: How to use 3 axis graph  (Read 441 times)

Offline soldarTopic starter

• Super Contributor
How to use 3 axis graph
« on: June 23, 2024, 10:32:50 pm »
I have no idea how to read or use this type of graph. 

Suppose I have a mixture 50% methane, 30% nitrogen, 20% oxygen. How do I find the corresponding point in the graph?
All my posts are made with 100% recycled electrons and bare traces of grey matter.

Offline Andy Chee

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How to use 3 axis graph
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2024, 01:25:47 am »
I have marked your coordinates below:

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2024, 01:36:17 am »
I’ve never used this type of graph before either, but based on the 12% oxygen as a clue, I suspect this is how it’s read. (And it seems to agree with Andy’s interpretation.)

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2024, 08:18:41 am »
I have marked your coordinates below:

OK, thanks, I think I understand. So there are two sets of lines leaving from each side but only one set applies to that side.

So I start with the percentage for methane and always follow the horizontal line, not the line that slopes downward. And I follow that line until I hit the nitrogen line which is only the ones sloping down and backwards and that necessarily will correspond to the Oxygen level which will be following the line which slopes down and forward.

So of the three sets of lines only one set applies to each "axis".

I think I got it. Thanks.
All my posts are made with 100% recycled electrons and bare traces of grey matter.

Online ArdWar

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2024, 08:50:11 am »
With ternary plot like this the three axes are not independent of each other. x+y+z always add up to 1, so for a given value there are only one intersection that makes sense.