Author Topic: How is Chipageddon affecting you?  (Read 297317 times)

Offline Bud

• Super Contributor
Re: How is Chipageddon affecting you?
« Reply #1225 on: June 14, 2022, 04:12:31 am »
I am not sure I buy that hoarding theory. Chips are not like wine which gets better with time, they become obsolete.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #1226 on: June 14, 2022, 04:57:15 am »
I am not sure I buy that hoarding theory. Chips are not like wine which gets better with time, they become obsolete.

If you buy 50 $1 chips and try to sell them for $50 each, all you need to do is sell two of them to be in the bonus. You can toss the remaining 48.

Offline thinkfat

• Supporter
  • This is just a hobby I spend too much time on.
    • Matthias' Hackerstübchen
« Reply #1227 on: June 14, 2022, 05:18:27 am »

If you buy 50 $1 chips and try to sell them for $50 each, all you need to do is sell two of them to be in the bonus. You can toss the remaining 48.

But you'd never, because you're greedy.
Everybody likes gadgets. Until they try to make them.

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #1228 on: June 14, 2022, 06:13:06 am »
To have this kind of effect on availability, you'd need to hoard an awful lot of stuff. Even at original prices that's a massive amount of money. Unless... maybe if you could get it on 120-day terms or something, and then assume you can sell on for original pricing, or slight loss, if the apocalypse doesn't turn up.

Online JPortici

• Super Contributor
« Reply #1229 on: June 14, 2022, 06:14:14 am »
I ordered STM32F373 microcontroller's from Mouser in February 2021 and on website before ordering estimated delivery was 52 weeks but after ordering there was no date just "Will advise*"
Then in December 2021 they asked if I'm OK with a price increase from $4.07 to $4.61  (Canadian dollars). But there was still no delivery date estimate.