Author Topic: How is Chipageddon affecting you?  (Read 297182 times)

Offline YurkshireLad

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How is Chipageddon affecting you?
« Reply #500 on: January 28, 2022, 01:33:26 pm »
I wanted to pick up some ICS, specifically ATMega328Ps and perhaps ATTiny85s. They're either out of stock or crazy expensive compared to days of old. One site (I forget which site and which IC) was showing a lead time of 6+ months before they would be available. I should have picked them up a year ago when I started learning about them. Oh well.  :-//

Offline jrs45

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #501 on: January 28, 2022, 02:00:04 pm »
Analog Devices is specifying 2-year leadtimes on new orders.  And orders that were made 6 months ago, and promised delivery around now, were also pushed out, probably because they're selling them to their large customers instead.  Insanity.  We're strongly considering abandoning them for this nonsense.

Offline voltsandjolts

• Supporter
« Reply #502 on: January 28, 2022, 02:00:29 pm »
Mouser, at least put an upper limit on some of their lines, in order to stop one PO buying up all of the stock.

Yes, I noticed that too.
It has the side effect of Mouser always charging low-quantity pricing and making more bucks out of us. To be fair to them, at least they aren't charging 6x normal prices. But if (like me) the scammers can just place multiple orders, then does it actually help this crappy situation?

I bet there is just a few of dozen well-funded scammers causing most of the damage here. I hope they burn.

Offline Alti

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #503 on: January 28, 2022, 02:20:00 pm »
Interestingly, this whole topic represents only one side of the Chipageddon theatre, a passive audience.
But where are the actors, where are the those who pull the strings?
I'd like to listen to those who benefit from whole shortage situation.
The traders, scammers, whatever you people call them?

The speculators of silicon, where are you?