Author Topic: How is Chipageddon affecting you?  (Read 290688 times)

Offline Kasper

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How is Chipageddon affecting you?
« Reply #450 on: December 15, 2021, 05:13:03 am »
I started playing around with the idea of nesting a QFN28 footprint inside of the same part's QFN44 footprint. It actually works - the result is sort of like a starburst pattern - and the result would be the ability to use either package depending upon what was available. It just required the creation of a custom footprint which was not difficult. That particular board is on hold at the moment but the concept is still valid and I'm hoping to finish it soon.

Good idea.  I've been thinking about moving some parts onto breakout boards. Then I can slap whatever I can find onto a breakout without changing the main board.

Online fourfathom

• Super Contributor
« Reply #451 on: December 15, 2021, 05:34:09 am »
My most recent board has a few components double-padded for two different footprints for otherwise compatible parts.  Also, I double padded a TCXO oscillator for the regular tiny SMD part, and for a big DIP footprint, allowing me to use a daughterboard that could potentially use any number of different parts.  Fortunately I had room to do this, but had to be pretty careful with the layout since these are 100MHz+ circuits and parasitics are not useful.
We'll search out every place a sick, twisted, solitary misfit might run to! -- I'll start with Radio Shack.

Online tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
« Reply #452 on: December 15, 2021, 11:24:07 am »
Same here, looking at imposing a 20% price increase myself: it's no longer possible to shoulder the costs without becoming unviable as a business.

This is not only the increased parts costs, but also the effects on cash flow, as I have to stock up on parts ahead of time and factor in loss of income due to unplanned delays beyond my control.