Author Topic: Looking for infos/suggestions about accurate Low- and High-Ohm measurement  (Read 28591 times)

Offline quarksTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Hello all,

probably as most of us, here in the forum, I am very interested in metrology (especially accuracy and calibration know how).

Therefore I studied the Keithley Low Level Measurement Handbook and read a lot of the very interesting posts and articles from Conrad Hoffmann (also member of this forum) about metrology, KVDs, Hamon Divider and bridges.

Inspired by robrenz (and with his permission) I used his low resistance spreadsheet, expanded it, added some of my better gear and The Reference Meter Fluke 8508A.

I was quite surprised to see, how my meters compare and that even my good 6.5 digit (Tek DMM 4050 and Gossen 30M) meters are quite bad (below 1 Ohm and above 1 MOhm).

To be able to get better results, the best seems to be working with Bridges and resistance references. But unfortunately I do not have a Null-Meter. Is there anything newer/better to use (maybe like the Null-Detector for DVMs from Conrad Hoffman)? And has anyone good readings about how resistance transfer standards work?

Another way could be adding a Micro-Ohmmeter (in the range 0.01% to 0.1% down to 1 mOhm ) and for high Ohms an Electrometer.
But so far I have not found a nice meter like robrenz's LOM-510A in Germany (or at least Europe). If you have suggestions, what could be worth to have a closer look at, please let me know.

My almost perfect all in one dream could be the Fluke 8508A, but besides the expected price tag, I was not even able to find a source for it. If there is one (or maybe a Datron/Wavetek 1281 / Fluke 1281A) please let me know.

thx
quarks

Edit: refined the chart and added the Burster 2304 Resitomat, which so far is the best Micro-Ohm Meter I could find
Edit: finally got the Fluke Reference Multimeter all in one solution, perfect for mOhm to GOhm
« Last Edit: June 05, 2013, 05:33:54 pm by quarks »