Author Topic: Cooling a DPAK2 Resistor?  (Read 3351 times)

Offline tekatiTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Stealth Micro
Cooling a DPAK2 Resistor?
« on: September 02, 2012, 07:08:48 pm »
I have a BOURNS Power Resistor in a DPAK2 case.  It shows it is capable of 35 watts.  The problem is cooling.  If I try to pass that much current through it not even close to 35 watts it basically starts thermally running away to the point it will melt down.  I was hoping for maybe 25 watts.  How do you keep it from thermally melting down?  I was thinking some sort of heat sink but I have no real experience with thermal dynamics and this sort of thing.  When they list it being good for 35W are they only claiming the device will withstand that but you must find your own way of cooling the device?  I completely admit I have 0 clue when it comes to thermal dynamics and this sort of thing so please any advice would be very welcome.

http://www.bourns.com/data/global/pdfs/PWR263S-35.pdf

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Cooling a DPAK2 Resistor?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2012, 07:37:49 pm »
35 W is mounted on a big heatsink where you keep the heatsink at 25C, while the resistor soldered to the copper heatsink will be derated depending on how big a copper pad the PCB has. If you have a 100mm by 100mm pad on both sides, and a good number of thermal vias under the device, it might be able to handle 7W of dissipation without unsoldering itself. To get the full 35W you will need a big aluminium heatsink with a copper inlaid slug that you solder the device tab to. Think of a CPU/GPU heatsink with a copper thermal pad on it.

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2012, 07:40:05 pm »
Long ago Dave made a video about heatsink dimensioning. The principles are the same. You might want to dig through Dave's videos to find it.
I delete PMs unread. If you have something to say, say it in public.