Author Topic: Elon Musk is a nice chap  (Read 165075 times)

Offline tom66

• Super Contributor
  • Electronics Hobbyist & FPGA/Embedded Systems EE
Re: Elon Musk is a nice chap
« Reply #875 on: November 21, 2022, 01:24:09 pm »
I'm no expert in large software projects, but I agree - is there a need for thousands of software engineers now at Twitter? Isn't it basically working "OK"? As you said, it's basically simple messaging like this forum. Does this forum need many software engineers behind it? No. It works for the most part.

Sure a forum like this one (SMF) put out updates, but I've used forums (like SMF) that were many years old versions and they were still working OK. Again, yes they had security issues and tweaks that should have been updated by the administrators, but they were runnning OK. I mean - how many serious bugs are there in the Twitter code that need a staff of 1000s of engineers to keep the old crippled thing going?

Looking at the list linked in my prior post, there are lots of data scientists and ML engineers.  Presumably you want to improve search and moderation with such engineers, so even if there appears to be little material change to 'tweeting', the platform itself needs constant backend engineering.  Maybe Elon's opinion is, "who cares? I'm going to let everyone on the platform, no matter what."  The problem is, it might be abandoned by advertisers if he does that, and then there is no business at all.  It'll be a bit of a reckoning in tech if this happens I suspect, because Facebook/Meta,   YouTube,  and other platforms have spent a lot of money on copyright detection & moderation ... all of which is 'dead weight' if your advertisers don't care about it in the long run. 

Online Bud

• Super Contributor
« Reply #876 on: November 21, 2022, 02:11:07 pm »