Author Topic: Electroboom: How Right IS Veritasium?! Don't Electrons Push Each Other??  (Read 86181 times)

Offline electrodacus

• Super Contributor
    • electrodacus
I’m a microwave semiconductor engineer.  I use whatever model works for the given problem.

There is only one correct answer to that question.
The electrical energy either flows through wires or outside them.
Since electrical current is defined as a stream of electrons (unless anyone thinks that definition is wrong) and electrons travels through wires electrical energy also travels through wires.
There is absolutely no evidence to suggest electrical energy travels outside the wires.
Free electrons traveling closer to the surface of the wires or even outside surface of the wire will still be considered inside the wire.

Derek has no idea what a capacitor is and completely ignored the line capacitance which was responsible for the effect he observed immediately after the switch was closed.
Even just moving the switch without closing the circuit will have created the same effect.

Offline rfeecs

• Frequent Contributor

Hard to argue with that.

There is absolutely no evidence to suggest electrical energy travels outside the wires.
Wrong.

You are endlessly repeating yourself.

As am I, I guess.  >:(

The following users thanked this post: Wolfram, HuronKing

Offline hamster_nz

• Super Contributor
Since electrical current is defined as a stream of electrons (unless anyone thinks that definition is wrong) and electrons travels through wires electrical energy also travels through wires.
That's some pretty lazy flip-flopping between current and energy there, (again)...
Gaze not into the abyss, lest you become recognized as an abyss domain expert, and they expect you keep gazing into the damn thing.

The following users thanked this post: HuronKing

Offline electrodacus

• Super Contributor
    • electrodacus
Wrong.

Well what is the evidence ?  I have not seen any.