Author Topic: Calculator recommendation?  (Read 39525 times)

Offline fpga

• Regular Contributor
Re: Calculator recommendation?
« Reply #50 on: July 09, 2013, 04:27:36 am »
Well, I don't like RPN... I have an old HP RPN calculator from early 1980's.

RPN is addictive. Once you get use to it, there's no going back!
I never did a day's work in my life, it was all fun -- Thomas Edison.

Offline AndrejaKo

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #51 on: July 09, 2013, 12:54:09 pm »
It's sad to see how little love HP-50g got in this thread. I've been using it since 2007 (I think) and I like it very much.  At first, I couldn't even image doing any graphs on it, but doing them turned out to be easier  and more convenient than re-learning Matlab and more capable than what Wolfram Alpha offers at the moment. Too bad that its serial port uses that strange connector type.

Another thing that had major effect on how I use calculators was my laptop. It has a button next to the numpad which was originally meant to launch some stupid multimedia program. Fortunately it's programmable, so I set it to launch windows calculator instead. That single thing made me actually use the windows calculator in the first place. Now I just press the button and it comes up, as quickly as it takes me to get a dumb calculator to turn on.

Offline Aeon

• Contributor
« Reply #52 on: July 09, 2013, 08:17:58 pm »
after I destroyed 3 TI-Calculators which we got in School I bought a Casio fx-991MS That was somewhere around 1999/2000. i still have it. it brought me nice through School and through University.

The nice thing about the MS-Version is you can input the shortcuts: k for 10^3, M for 10^6 or m for 10^-3 and so on. As Engineer I use that feature a lot.
picture: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Casio_fx-991MS_scientific_calculator_1aa.jpg

The successor the fx-991ES is missing this feature, like displaying the inputet forumlas in a nice way.