Author Topic: Multimeter Mod! Soft Power & Auto Off  (Read 13417 times)

Offline EpicIntelGamerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Multimeter Mod! Soft Power & Auto Off
« on: July 30, 2013, 12:34:49 am »
Hello!

Since I'm still a newbie in electronics I've yet to obtain a nice DMM and use a $10 CenTech DMM. I usually find myself using it in short bursts, just to test something here and probe there and I always seem to forget to turn it off.

I decided I should make a button that when pressed, would turn on the DMM for about a minute, then turn it off.

I knew there was a multitude of ways to make soft power buttons with auto off like this but I wanted something that was very simple and could be done with the components I have laying around.
I thought up a little circuit where I use a transistor to control the power of the DMM and simply have a button to apply power to charge a large capacitor which acts as the trigger for the transistor.

This is how the DMM looked before the mod:

I found that with the transistor I was using (MPS5172 NPN) that a 3300uF capacitor seemed to keep the multimeter at full power for almost exactly 60 seconds, then another 20 or so with the readings getting more and more inaccurate and the low battery indicator coming on.

But that was perfect for me, 1 minute of reading and then a nice power off, so I put the components on a little bit of protoboard and hot glued it into the case in the big empty space behind the LCD.

And here it is with its little mod:

Thanks for viewing and feel free to leave any comments or suggestions below!
« Last Edit: July 30, 2013, 12:41:01 am by EpicIntelGamer »

Offline Lightages

• Supporter
  • Canadian po
Re: Multimeter Mod! Soft Power Auto Off
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2013, 12:44:16 am »
Nice idea. It is sad when you end up paying more for batteries in a year than the meter cost you. Especially now that  you have made that mod, you really should keep that thing out of the wall sockets!