Author Topic: UK - Donate Multimeter  (Read 7602 times)

Offline alin_imTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
UK - Donate Multimeter
« on: March 08, 2015, 11:04:29 pm »
Hi guys,

Does anyone has a multimeter to donate ??? I am a student and I am pretty low on money right now...
One man's 'magic' is another man's engineering. 'Supernatural' is a null word. - Robert A. Heinlein

Offline Aodhan145

• Frequent Contributor
Re: UK - Donate Multimeter
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2015, 11:20:18 pm »
You cant be that low in money to buy a multimeter.
Extech EX330 £30.30: http://www.test-meter.co.uk/extech-ex330-mini-multimeter/
Extech EX430 True RMS £52.20: http://www.test-meter.co.uk/extech-ex430-trms-professional-multimeter/
Just buy one of those. If you don't require true RMS go for the EX330, It was the winner of the EEVBlog $50 Multimeter shoot out.

Offline macbreak

• Contributor
  • !
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 12:25:21 am »
Lol. EEVblog is turning into donation central. You could just save up... perhaps? Even a CHEAP DMM is only a matter of £20. HOWEVER... if you want to review a multimeter, you have a VERY high chance of getting to keep it, once the review is done. You don't need to plead poverty when approaching the company or supplier - think like a pauper, you'll come across and live like one; you simply approach them, professionally and confidently, ask if they'd like for you to review their product on your YouTube channel, and offer links and mentions of their site, in return. 9/10 companies will allow you to keep low value items - but that SHOULD NOT be the motivating factor for approaching them - you need to want to review it, BUT, it will provide a mutually beneficial solution to a problem I do not even see existing, as advertising costs them WAY more than the cost of sending you a meter to review :)