Author Topic: problems with links in code blocks  (Read 2659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FrankBussTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2368
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
problems with links in code blocks
« on: January 29, 2017, 04:17:26 am »
When I write this:

Code: [Select]
wget [url=https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-firmware/releases/download/0.9.6-dev_20150704/nodemcu_float_0.9.6-dev_20150704.bin]https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-firmware/releases/download/0.9.6-dev_20150704/nodemcu_float_0.9.6-dev_20150704.bin[/url]
git clone [url=https://github.com/themadinventor/esptool.git]https://github.com/themadinventor/esptool.git[/url]
cd esptool
sudo python2 ./esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 write_flash 0x00000 ../nodemcu_float_0.9.6-dev_20150704.bin

It automatically adds the url-tags, but because it is code, it shows the url tags, too.

When I use quote:

Quote
git clone https://github.com/4refr0nt/luatool.git

It adds the url-tags, too, but doesn't show it, which is fine. For code I would prefer that it doesn't change anything within the block. Is this possible? Maybe would be better to disable "Automatic Link Posted URLs" altogether, this would be an easy fix.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2017, 06:14:37 am by FrankBuss »
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
Electronics, hiking, retro-computing, electronic music etc.: https://www.youtube.com/c/FrankBussProgrammer
 

Online IanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12206
  • Country: us
Re: problems with links in code blocks
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2017, 04:22:20 am »
Let me try:

Code: [Select]
wget https://github.com/nodemcu/nodemcu-firmware/releases/download/0.9.6-dev_20150704/nodemcu_float_0.9.6-dev_20150704.bin
git clone https://github.com/themadinventor/esptool.git
cd esptool
sudo python2 ./esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 write_flash 0x00000 ../nodemcu_float_0.9.6-dev_20150704.bin

When I preview the above, nothing gets modified. Is it only when hitting post that something gets changed?

If so, I would guess it is a bug. IMHO nothing inside code tags should get modified at all.
 

Offline FrankBussTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2368
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: problems with links in code blocks
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2017, 04:25:54 am »
When I preview the above, nothing gets modified. Is it only when hitting post that something gets changed?

If so, I would guess it is a bug. IMHO nothing inside code tags should get modified at all.

Yes, in preview it is right. And yes, it doesn't get modified here, strange. But it does get modified in this article: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/how-to-setup-a-rapid-development-environment-for-nodemcu-and-lua-scripts/ It kinda works with quote instead of code, because then at least you don't see the url-tags.
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
Electronics, hiking, retro-computing, electronic music etc.: https://www.youtube.com/c/FrankBussProgrammer
 

Online IanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12206
  • Country: us
Re: problems with links in code blocks
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2017, 04:30:03 am »
Well, I don't know what is happening to your posts. As you saw, no URL tags got added to my experimental post here.
 

Offline FrankBussTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2368
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: problems with links in code blocks
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2017, 06:15:53 am »
Well, I don't know what is happening to your posts. As you saw, no URL tags got added to my experimental post here.

Ok, I found the smallest working example for this bug:

First use a url-tag with a http address, then use a code-tag with a https-address, but without an url-tag. After posting, it adds the url-tag inside the code tag. Like this:

test.com.

Code: [Select]
[url]https://test.com[/url]
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
Electronics, hiking, retro-computing, electronic music etc.: https://www.youtube.com/c/FrankBussProgrammer
 

Offline FrankBussTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2368
  • Country: de
    • Frank Buss
Re: problems with links in code blocks
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2017, 06:17:03 am »
The forum code must be a mess for such kind of bugs :P
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
Electronics, hiking, retro-computing, electronic music etc.: https://www.youtube.com/c/FrankBussProgrammer
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf