Author Topic: Why can you use electrolytic caps as coupling caps?  (Read 2945 times)

Offline YuuTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Why can you use electrolytic caps as coupling caps?
« on: September 26, 2023, 04:02:21 pm »
I've been reading about headphone amps and I see circuits like this by people who know much more than me

and I wonder why this is okay? Everyone knows electrolytics only like to be biased one way at DC.
Like, looking at the input cap for example, you will have input bias current on the op amp and that will give some DC offset. Maybe it's negative or positive. Depends on direction of I_B. Maybe it's normal for it to go into the op amp and so the right side will be negative. That doesn't tell you anything about the voltage on the input side though. Being a newbie, I have no clue what DC offset might be there coming from DAC. So this is something I'm unsure about and would love to hear what the people here think and learn why this is okay.

Offline TimFox

• Super Contributor
  • Retired, now restoring antique test equipment
Re: Why can you use electrolytic caps as coupling caps?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2023, 05:46:42 pm »
An electrolytic capacitor can be considered as a capacitor in parallel with a "crappy" diode, so one should pay attention to the polarity of the voltage across it.
A better solution than shown in your circuit is to used a "non-polarized" electrolytic, which is basically two capacitors in series (with opposite polarity).
See:  https://techatronic.com/non-polarized-capacitor-detailed-information-what-is-a-non-polarized-capacitor/
However, if the voltage across the polarized capacitor itself is very small, the unit will still work as a capacitor, so long as the diode current is negligible.
Put a large reverse voltage across the polarized capacitor and it may well explode (literally).
In my audio work, however, I avoided using a normal electrolytic capacitor without a substantial DC voltage across it.