Author Topic: Schmitt-Trigger Inverter Oscillating  (Read 2875 times)

Offline rHermesTopic starter

• Contributor
Schmitt-Trigger Inverter Oscillating
« on: January 02, 2021, 12:30:48 pm »
Intro

Disclaimer: I’m very new to electronics and have only had a scope for a few days, please bear with me ;)

In order to learn more about electronics, I’ve ordered a lot of ICs from AliExpress and I’m just playing around with them. This question is about some weird behavior I’ve seen when playing with the SN74HC14 Hex Schmitt-Trigger Inverter(Link is to the datasheet).

The goal of the exercise was simply to get the IC working and observe it with my scope.

I’m doing these experiments on a breadboard and powering the circuit with a HiLetgo Breadboard power supply module set to 5v.

Problem 1: Oscillating input

The first problem I observed was that the input and output would oscillate when the Schmitt-Trigger changed levels.

The setup used looks like this:

I’ve connected all unused inputs to ground, like the datasheet recommends. I’m using a potentiometer to control the voltage going into the 1A pin. The yellow jumper cable goes to the yellow channel probe on my scope and the white goes to the purple channel. The black and brown channel goes to ground connections on the probes. (The red connector on the middle of the breadboard is not doing anything in this picture, it will come into play later)

With this setup, I start up my oscilloscope(SDS1104X-E) and I see this, which is expected:

The problem comes when I start adjusting the potentiometer, and the Schmitt-Trigger changes levels:

and and

It doesn’t happen all the time, but when it happens, it will get stuck in it. I can then move the input up and down within a range and it will stay oscillation. If I move it too much either way the oscillation will break and the output goes either low or high.

Going from high to low on input and getting oscillation:

and

Going from low to high without oscillation: