Author Topic: Multiplexing high-current, high-voltage 7-segment  (Read 492 times)

Offline PeabodyTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Multiplexing high-current, high-voltage 7-segment
« on: Yesterday at 04:25:26 pm »
I'm participating in a thread over on the Arduino forum, but I'm just a hobbyist, and need some expert advice from the EEs here.  The OP wants to build a display of up to 11 digits of what I assume are large 7-segments.  I don't have a link, but he describes them as CC having Vf = 7.8V, Imax = 60mA.  The special requirement is that the display has to show up properly on video as well as in still pictures.  Ouch.

Originally he planned to have continuous drive, with one high-current, high-voltage 595 equivalent on each digit.  But those steroidal 595s are expensive, and I wondered if it would be possible to multiplex the display using one such suped-up 595 driving all the digits in common, and two similar chips sinking the 11 common cathodes one at a time.

I've worked out software that runs a timer interrupt at 100us, and for a Nano or Uno at 16MHz it takes up about 1/3 of the time in servicing the interrupts.  I've tried it with a normal digit, and pictures taken at 1/1000 sec look pretty good.  But what concerns me is whether it's reasonable to be switching maybe 50mA at 10V or so at a speed of 10KHz over a distance of something in excess of one foot.  Actually, it's a bit worse than that because during the ISR, current is shut down while the changes are taking place so as to prevent ghosting.  So in the case of two adjacent digits both having the same segment turned on, current would be switched off, then back on, over just a few microseconds.

I've never done anything like this,  and just don't have a feel for whether it is at all reasonable.  It may be that 11 digits with this much current and voltage, at this distance, is just a bridge too far for multiplex. Any opinions would be appreciated.  Is it "no problem", or "no chance"?

Online Andy Chee