Author Topic: PIC Programming Book Recommendation  (Read 3865 times)

Offline TeknotronixTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
PIC Programming Book Recommendation
« on: December 05, 2010, 03:03:17 am »
I'm after a good PIC programming book that focuses more on the use of MPLAB if possible. Any opinions?

I'm not a total beginner but it was 10 years ago that I wrote my last PIC program and that was all in assembler.

Don't drone me bro!

Offline kek

• Regular Contributor
    • Ken's Electronics Projects
Re: PIC Programming Book Recommendation
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2010, 04:35:26 am »
I got back into pic programming over a year ago (after playing around in assembler about 10 years ago too!).

The general recommendation that I found getting back into programming the PIC was to use C. (Not wanting to start a C vs asm thing)

I found "Programming 16-bit Microcontrollers in C Learning to Fly the PIC24" http://flyingpic24.com/ to be a great resource. I've spent most of my time on the chapter "dark screen" where he uses multiple interrupts to generate a composite video waveform. He describes using an "Explorer 16 demonstration board" but I wanted to dive right in so I used what I had on hand - a PIC24F64GA002 (something I got free from a design contest parts request). I also found another great resource in trying to get my setup to work - the data sheet on the exact part I was using (spent some time on "peripheral pin select" - which isn't mentioned in the book because the huge pin count chip he was using didn't use this feature).

MPLAB is covered at the start of his book.

Ken

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2010, 04:45:05 am »
Thanks Ken. I will check out that book.

Yeah I don't want to go down the ASM path again as I need to get the project done pretty quick. I am using a PIC18 so if the book focuses on that It would be advantageous.