Author Topic: Oscilloscope slow above 100ms per division  (Read 1209 times)

Offline george.okpe.jamesTopic starter

Oscilloscope slow above 100ms per division
« on: June 10, 2020, 11:29:27 pm »
Hi,

I am a beginner and recently purchased an SDS2202X-E oscilloscope. I am testing a simple RC circuit with a 10kOhms resistor and a  470uF capacitor, the time constant for this setup should be 4.7 seconds, so I want to set my oscilloscope to about 500ms per division so I can see the proper charge/discharge cycle, but my oscilloscope becomes very slow, shows a loading bar and the text acquiring, but it still doesn't show the expected waveform, it just a straight line on the level of the charged capacitor.

I believe I am doing something wrong but I don't know what it is, I am just starting out new. I need help.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2020, 11:52:45 pm by george.okpe.james »

Offline StillTrying

• Super Contributor
Re: Oscilloscope slow above 100ms per division
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2020, 12:47:53 am »
Switch the trigger to AUTO and then press STOP by hand, maybe. :)
.  That took much longer than I thought it would.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2020, 01:18:59 am »
Your time constant is indeed 4.7 seconds but it takes 6 such periods to get to 99.75% charge.  So, about 30 seconds.  Divide that by 12 divisions and you need to have 2.5 seconds per division.  Better pick 5 seconds/div.  One minute across the screen!

Those are ridiculous numbers.  Try a 0.1 ufd capacitor with that 10k resistor so your time constant is 1 ms.

Look at Reply 54 here:  https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/starter-scope/50/