Author Topic: Newbie recapping 1997 Dodge ECU - Advice please!  (Read 86 times)

Offline JohnnyTruckerTopic starter

Newbie recapping 1997 Dodge ECU - Advice please!
« on: Yesterday at 07:53:27 pm »
Hello, I am very new to a lot in the electronics repair world but I have some basic knowledge/experience about soldering and capacitors and generally how a circuit works and such. I have a fair bit of experience with automotive stuff as well.

I am working on recapping my 1997 Dodge ECU. I respect that some may disagree with that, but I have made up my mind on that. I have seen and heard of too many others with same and other makes/years that the liquid caps have already damaged or ruined the board so I’m not waiting for that to happen. This is a vehicle I am keeping long term.
It sounds like there’s a general consensus that even the best liquid caps can’t be dependably counted on to last more than about 20-25yrs, at best. So I have also decided I will be switching from liquid electrolytic to solid, either polymer or ceramic so I don’t have to do it ever again, hopefully.  Some may disagree with that as well but it’s what I have decided. This specific ECU was not designed for future maintenance in mind and recap like many other makes/years are. It was not designed to be able to have it taken apart multiple times throughout the lifetime of the vehicle. My guess is, it was designed to sell a vehicle at a minimum cost to the manufacturer. The ECU was easy to remove from the vehicle but opening it up was a huge chore, putting it back together will be nerve wracking probably and I’m not sure it would survive a 2nd recapping.
The vehicle is important to me so I want to take care of it for the long term.

My hope and plan is to replace the old liquid caps with caps that will allow the ECU to function normally, and last…forever..yes let’s go with that, forever!
The original caps are (3) 25v 220uF 105C.

My 1st choice of replacements is these: (dipped ceramic)