Poll

Which one is best for a beginner hobbyist like myself?

cheap chinese multimeter
4 (16%)
Eg. Fluke or Major-tech
21 (84%)

Total Members Voted: 24

Voting closed: May 04, 2011, 05:46:29 pm

Author Topic: Multimeter mayhem  (Read 10445 times)

Offline hannobisschoffTopic starter

• Contributor
  • I get high on solder fumes.
Multimeter mayhem
« on: April 24, 2011, 05:46:29 pm »
Yes, the question is simple, which option should a beginner wannabe E-Engineer like myself choose. A cheap and standard "China" multimeter with all the basic functions, or a pretty expensive (even second-hand) FLUKE or MAJOR-TECH etc. multimeter. I'll use it for pretty standard measuring, for example, how's the accuracy of a cheap multimeter. Remember, I'm still a newbie.

Offline Russel

• Regular Contributor
Re: Multimeter mayhem
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2011, 08:42:17 pm »
Dave has explained in many of his video blogs, safety with the multimeters is a very important factor to consider. You might, for the moment, simply want to measure AA battery voltage. But, what are you going to do if you need to measure the mains? Best to have a multimeter that can do both, even if you don't plan on measuring high voltage right now.

I recommend that you stay away from the cheap multimeters that don't have proper Cat ratings. You don't have to spend a fortune to get a safe multimeter, but you definitely shouldn't try to save money buying an unsafe one. Take advantage of the information that Dave has provided and watch all the multimeter video blogs, if you haven't already.

Offline Tony R

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2011, 09:02:40 pm »
I own a cheepo 80 dollar one that at one time linked to my computer but i since lost the software for it, not that the software was any good anyways, i now never use it the buttons don't react like they should when i press them. the beep is annoyingly faded and takes forever...