Author Topic: Mains Powered Oscilloscope for Automotive testing  (Read 1078 times)

Offline Ted123Topic starter

Mains Powered Oscilloscope for Automotive testing
« on: July 12, 2024, 05:09:24 am »
Hi

I have a mains powered 240 vac benchtop oscilloscope.

Its this model.

In the manual it says it can take up to 300 volts DC

I known Dave had the video about earth ground loop and safety.

Would a benchtop oscilloscope like this be suitable for automotive testing such as MAF sensor testing, ignition coils , oxygen sensor , fuel pump voltage etc ?

I'm new to oscilloscopes so didn't want to do anything unsafe.

What about putting the ground on the 12 volt battery terminal and test probe to positive and testing charging voltage on car battery ?

https://www.jaycar.com.au/100mhz-digital-oscilloscope-with-40k-memory-depth/p/QC1936

Offline slavoy

• Regular Contributor
Re: Mains Powered Oscilloscope for Automotive testing
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2024, 07:53:16 am »
The car is a floating voltage source, so there is no problem here.
In the manual it says it can take up to 300 volts DC
The 300 V rating applies to the input itself directly. When you use a 10x probe (which you should practically always use), you divide the input signal by 10.

Of course, you don't want to measure coil voltages directly with a standard probe. Use COP (Coil On Plug) adapters, for example.

Would a benchtop oscilloscope like this be suitable for automotive testing such as MAF sensor testing, ignition coils , oxygen sensor , fuel pump voltage etc ?
It will get the job done, but generally, portable oscilloscopes and scopemeters are more convenient for such work.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2024, 08:09:02 am by slavoy »

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2024, 08:18:34 am »