Author Topic: Low noise 5VDC power supply design  (Read 3278 times)

Offline BjornKarlTopic starter

Low noise 5VDC power supply design
« on: September 08, 2022, 08:25:04 am »
Hi,
I’m not good at circuit design but I can use a soldering iron. I have a high-end audio device which is currently operating with 2 Li-Ion batteries. I constantly forget to charge the batteries si I’m looking to replace them with a line operated DC supply. The output from this supply shall be 5VDC with a current output of about 100mA. But, the output must have ultra low audible noise, approaching that what I get from using the battery. It must also be well filtered to eliminate hum. Can anyone point me in a direction where I could possibly find a circuit diagram with appropriate component values for this use?

I have looke all over to find a ready made board for this but can’t find anything other than cheap stuff from China which of course have no specifications to support the claims. I’m grateful for any advice I can get on this.

Offline rooppoorali

• Regular Contributor
Re: Low noise 5VDC power supply design
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2022, 09:43:21 am »
Have you tested this circuit ever? https://www.theengineeringprojects.com/2015/04/how-to-design-a-dc-power-supply-in-proteus.html

Among the ready-made ones, this one has good reviews: https://allo.com/sparky/shanti.html

There are 2 options here. 5V,3A and 5V,1A. 5V,1A means, it can output Maxium 1A current. If your requirement is less, you can still use this power supply.

The following users thanked this post: BjornKarl

Offline Vovk_Z

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2022, 10:07:12 am »
But, the output must have ultra low audible noise, approaching that what I get from using the battery. It must also be well filtered to eliminate hum. Can anyone point me in a direction where I could possibly find a circuit diagram with appropriate component values for this use?