Author Topic: Looking for help selecting a budget multi-meter. I'm quite overwhelmed.  (Read 5506 times)

Offline BoredSysAdmTopic starter

Hello,
Please don't judge me too harshly, I did search the forums and read some of the results, but while some are simply irrelevant (EU results - I'm in the US) others had different needs/uses.
I've tried to decipher the very extensive DMM spreadsheet but coming up still not nearly fully understand the finer details.

I have some background in Electronics from Highschool and electronics tech repair in the military service. Since then I've successfully repaired my Panasonic plasma TV and my Onkyo receiver, both thanks for youtube tutorials.
I am looking for a DMM which will be robust and accurate for doing troubleshooting on home electronics, such as home theater, computers, networking etc...
My goal is to purchase it used on the eBay at around $100 (like Fluke 77IV for example). Fluke is what I used in the military and never had any issues with it.
Features wise, I'm not sure but sounds like 6k count, Digital and auto-range would be nice to have. Testing diodes is must have, testing transistors directly would be a nice to have.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
It's complicated...  Furthermore, it doesn't matter what you buy because you will be buying more later.  Nobody in this game for any length of time has less than a half dozen handheld DMMs and maybe a couple of bench DMMs.  They grow like rabbits!

If you have even the most remote intention of measuring mains voltages, you care about the CAT ratings.  CAT III is probably a minimum.  But the problem is, the CAT rating on the case is just ink on plastic, it means nothing.  For this application you should be buying top end stuff, Fluke, Brymen, maybe a couple of others.  There is some kind of database over in Test Equipment that shows the results of testing the CAT ratings.