Author Topic: Novice trying to understand circuit boards and how they are built  (Read 778 times)

Offline komrad2236Topic starter

• Contributor
Hey internet, novice here.

I am trying to understand the concept of how circuit boards are built in hopes that this knowledge can help me understand how to approach the repair, and find the fault easier.

I've been repairing some stuff, looking at some diagrams, learning.
But based on what I see so far, let me run this by you.

Basically, seems to me that, circuit boards are built around few ICs that are supposed to do the job.
The rest of the components are there only to transmit power and signal to these ICs, and away from these ICs.
If an IC needs 5v, and input into the board is 100v, there must be some components that can lower this voltage so IC can use it and not get damaged.

Lets say some type of a video device is not outputting any video.
I can then look at the chips inside this video device, see which one has the job to process/output the video signal, first test if it is even powered and then test its video output pins.
If the chip is not getting any power, the problem is with the power line leading to the chip.
Then I just narrow the problem down until I get to the issue itself (cold solder join,failed component,broken trace,...)

Did I get the concept right or am I missing something ?
Please, point me to the right direction where I can learn what I need to understand this better.

Online Grandchuck

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Novice trying to understand circuit boards and how they are built
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2022, 01:26:12 pm »
You are on the right path.  Checking to see if chips have power and an input signal is where lots of people start the troubleshooting process.

It will help to learn basic chip functions.  Take operational amplifiers as an example.  They are a basic building block and you could invest some time to learn how they are used.  Other examples include voltage regulators and others.