Author Topic: Help understanding the amarican POTS standard  (Read 1372 times)

Offline dusterthefirstTopic starter

Help understanding the amarican POTS standard
« on: August 19, 2019, 06:47:20 pm »
Hello, I am fairly new here so apologies if there's anything wrong with my post, be it formatting or just understandable. With that out of the way let me just get straight to the point.

I am a very beginner electronics hobbyist so I currently don't understand much of the terminology and what have you. I understand the basics of DC and digital electronics but am not so well versed in AC and analog electronics. having said that, I have been trying to create a "POTS phone base station", or in other words, just emulate a POTS phone line that I can connect any old (touch tone/rotary) phone up to. Ive found 2 helpful resources that document the standard quite well, but I am still having trouble understanding it fully. Here are the 2 pages I have been looking at:
And heres what ive gotten out of it so far
  • To ring: 60V RMS 20HZ AC signal across the tip and ring (I have a working prototype for this)
  • To detect if the phone is on hook: 48V DC across tip and ring. Drops to ~6-8 VDC

The main thing I do not understand is how the phone drops the voltage. Does the power supply have to be current limited somehow? Cause the way i see it shouldn't the lines always have 48V if that's what I'm supplying? I tried to test this by connecting an old phone up to my power supply at 48V DC but when i picked up the phone the current shot way up which I presume was from a short, so I disconnected it from power.

If anyone could help explain in more layman terms the standard that would be very welcomed. If not the whole standard someone could just explain this hook detection that would be splendid.

Attached below is also my ringer circuit if anyone has any suggestions to improve it.
814971-0
Info on the image:
  • On the left, the 4 ICs make up a SSR H-Bridge to create the AC.