Author Topic: I have wired the circuit properly, it just won't ignite on the other end!!  (Read 3729 times)

Offline cuesoccer24Topic starter

• Contributor
Hello to all,
I am trying to build a model rocket launch controller using the shell of an old N64 controller. One guy did it on youtube and I am trying to replicate exactly what he did. I wanted a DIY project since we are staying home from work with the virus out there. I am a beginner with electronics and I just need help wiring this together. I thought I completed the circuit yesterday and when I went to connect the two 9V batteries, nothing happened. There was no connection to the mini push button switch or from the bigger red push button to send power to the mini LED. Not sure where I went wrong, but if someone can help me figure this out/help me wire things together I would be greatly appreciative. The two pictures I have attached are what I am working with. One picture is of the shell of the N64 controller with the parts inside and where they all go. The other is the diagram/schematic of the wiring that I need to complete, I just can't figure out how. Thanks for any info or diagram help.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2020, 01:55:13 am by cuesoccer24 »

The following users thanked this post: krayvonk

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
Re: Can Anyone help me wire this circuit together?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2020, 07:31:30 pm »
It's not clear what you want to do.  Please explain what function you want and which button is supposed to do what.

You have connected the batteries in parallel so you still have 9 Volts.  It goes through the first button to supply 9V to the second button.  When you press the first button, the LED will light unless you install it backwards.  While holding the first button, you press the second and the full 9V goes to the igniter.  So you need two hands to press both at once, the way you have drawn it.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2020, 08:01:53 pm »