Author Topic: HDMI cables: Why would I own several cables with pins 3, 9, 12, 15 unconnected?  (Read 487 times)

Offline FinalCatchTopic starter

Greetings. This is my first time posting on the forum. So I apologize in advance for any breach of etiquette.
I wasn't quite sure where to post this but as I'm a beginner this seemed a valid option.

I've been having some issues getting one of my monitors working with one of my PCs (an old Mac actually) over HDMI. So I invested in a cable checker to check some cables to remove one point of failure. I've found some duds and some with all connections working (according to the checker).

However, I've also found several cables (3) with pins 3, 9, 12, and 15 unconnected. Stranger, at least one of them still works.
A Google shows the channels are:

3: TMDS Data 2-
9: TMDS Data 0-
12: TMDS Clock -
15: SCL (I2C Serial Clock for DDC)

I can't find any documentation online about these pins being commonly unused. The cables are all different ages from different manufacturers. So I'm wondering what I'm missing. It's too big a coincidence for these pins to have all failed on their own. Does anyone know what is going on here?

I went so far as to do a breakdown of the cable checker. (I might have to add the other pictures of its PCB in another post)
I'm not 100% sure how it works. Given there is an unmarked IC (SAM8458) which I can't find any info on. Could anyone guess why it uses a Schottky Diode / led combination and only checks the pins one by one? In any case, I doubt the cable checker is at fault.

Is it possible that the pins marked on the cable checker are misordered?
If they are reversed:

3 --- > 17. DDC/CEC Ground
 9 --- > 11. TMDS Clock Shield
12 --- > 8. TMDS Data0 Shield
15 --- > 5. TMDS Data1 Shield

I could understand the cable operating without the shields connected I suppose. Has anyone come across anything like this before?

Other pcb screen shots.

last one..
« Last Edit: June 09, 2024, 06:48:29 pm by FinalCatch »