Author Topic: General questions about Isolation i.e. how NOT to blow up your 'scope follow-up?  (Read 2819 times)

Offline FakeDaveTopic starter

• I Am Become Dave, Destroyer of Words.
Hi! I've been tinkering with electronics for several years now, and getting familiar with an old analog scope while saving for a new digital one, and I want to take it to the next level by repairing some devices that might require looking at signals at higher voltages than just 5v logic. I've been doing a lot of research about how to avoid doing damage to scopes, DUTs, and myself when testing power circuits. I'm all about safety so I looked up what Tektronix had to say about it and they don't really recommend an isolation transformer anymore, but if you *must* use one that you use something like their A6901 Ground Isolation Monitor in conjunction with it, and I can see why. Windings fail, $tuff happens and your life is worth a little more investment. Then I looked into scope isolators, like the Tek A6902B Isolator and wound up getting an OK deal on one, the trade-off being it was missing the probe for the second channel (if anyone has a spare p850 probe, holla!). I also found what some of you had to say about it in a very old post here, and some advocated for using both an isolation transformer for the DUT and separate protection for the scope! Lower amperage isolation transformers like B&K's are cute, but getting anything over 3 amps gets expensive in a hurry. So what are your thoughts on the matter? And please be gentle, this is my first post.  Thanks!  :-+
No Electrons were harmed by the transmission of this message.  They were however greatly inconvenienced.

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
First of all, welcome to the forum.