Author Topic: Fluke 289  (Read 10970 times)

Offline mhs2xsTopic starter

• Contributor
Fluke 289
« on: February 04, 2011, 04:19:22 pm »
Greetings All,
I'm fairly new to electronics and have recently been researching some higher end DMM's.
After going thru several crap meters over the years, I want to buy the last meter I'll ever need. I'm getting into the modification of microphones and preamps. I need a meter that will handle the small electronic stuff, as well as electrical troubleshooting when required. Mics can be intermittent and troublesome sometimes. That's why I'm considering the 289 for the logging functions. I know it's a lot of meter, but I need something smaller. I know I could get a benchtop that would suffice, but they're so big that I don't have the room. Most of my work will be done on a coffee table or on my desk that's already got a mixing board and studio monitors on it along with my monster computer.

So, is the 289 the last meter I'll probably ever need to measure and troubleshoot small electronic components as well as the occasional power amp and the like? The Agilent 1253A/B seems worthy, but for just a little more, the Fluke just seems to be the way to go.

All suggestions and advice welcome.

Cheers!
Mitchell

Offline grenert

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Fluke 289
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 04:43:32 pm »
For daily (non-logging) use, I find the 289 a little cumbersome.  It's too big and heavy, and there is a little lag of a few seconds every time you turn it on when it "boots up."  For routine testing, I prefer a simpler Fluke 79-III or an old-school 8060A.  It also eats batteries (they say something like 100-200 hours; can't remember exactly).  I just switched to using Eneloop rechargeables a little while ago.  I don't know how well that will work, but I imagine it will be OK because the dead alkalines drained down to about 1V.