Author Topic: Electromagnetism Questions - LC Tank Circuit - Metal Detector Issues  (Read 1569 times)

Offline RigolonTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hey guys, not quite sure if this post belongs here. But since there are all kinds of experts on this forum someone might help me.

Since electromagnetism is usually seen as complicated I will try to be concise, I could try to give more info if needed.

So let's go to the problem in hand. I have a walk-through metal detector circuit and want to give it more sensitivity. (detect really small objects, eg. nails, pins).

To do that I'm studying a lot of electromagnetism theory. So far I come up with the following points:
- RX coil with larger area and more turns.
EMF = NRX*/dt (where NRX is the number of turns of RX coil - Faraday's Law)
Φ = ∫ B.dS, therefore bigger area bigger flux. Bigger flux, bigger /dt so bigger EMF.

- I also read a lot that higher frequency gives more senstivity.
Given that B is proportional with the current (Biot-Savart law) and i(t) = Imax*sin(2πf*t), when solving EMF = /dt we get a component i(t) = Imax*2πf*cos(2πf*t). Therefore higher f = higher EMF.

Believing that I got all this right I could increase the frequency on my TX... BUT:
At resonance frequency parallel LC is seeing by the circuit as an Open-Circuit, which means no current from power supply and IL=-IC, so I could say IL = V/XL. And that it's what I get in my simulations (If needed more info on this ask me and I will post it in the replies).
So higher XL = lower Imax = lower B (magnetic field) = lower EMF.
Given that XL = 2πf*L it means that Imax is 2πf lower. But considering the current equation after /dt that i(t) = Imax*2πf*cos(2πf*t) and changing Imax for V/XL we get i(t) =  V/2πf*L*2πf*cos(2πf*t). Simplifying i(t) = V/L*cos(2πf*t).

And by that i get that changing the frequency means nothing. But from all I read about metal detecting, changing frequency means something. What am I missing here??