Author Topic: Easy to learn circuit simulator  (Read 7344 times)

Offline ZingerTopic starter

• Contributor
Easy to learn circuit simulator
« on: April 11, 2017, 02:58:54 am »
I'm a software engineer who has spent his whole life avoiding anything more complicated than 1 and 0.  Now I trying to learn the analog world.

Can anyone recommend a 101 and up tutorial for LTSPICE or other freeware circuit simulators?  Where should I start?  My immediate interest is building a logic level circuit that can control a 12V 5A load.

I actually found something that looks like exactly what I need on a UK Vaping site.  But I'd really like to know what I'm doing before trusted vape modifier a 1/4 of the world away.
"It's better to ask a stupid question than to make an expensive mistake."

Offline ebclr

• Super Contributor
Re: Easy to learn circuit simulator
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2017, 04:17:16 am »

The following users thanked this post: Zinger

Offline Dubbie

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2017, 04:40:51 am »
As a simulation noob, I found LTSpice super simple to learn and use. The UI looks about 20 years out of date, but everything works fine.

And best of all the results agreed with reality, So I know I was doing something right.

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2017, 05:05:20 am »
I'm a software engineer who has spent his whole life avoiding anything more complicated than 1 and 0.  Now I trying to learn the analog world.

Can anyone recommend a 101 and up tutorial for LTSPICE or other freeware circuit simulators?  Where should I start?  My immediate interest is building a logic level circuit that can control a 12V 5A load.

I actually found something that looks like exactly what I need on a UK Vaping site.  But I'd really like to know what I'm doing before trusted vape modifier a 1/4 of the world away.
There's some recommendations here: