Author Topic: About power supplies  (Read 1843 times)

Offline thememoTopic starter

About power supplies
« on: January 27, 2017, 01:28:04 am »
Hello , i am studying electronics engineering and this is my 1st year, as i beginner i want to ask one question about power supplies...This question may be funny to you :palm: Also this is my homework but don't worry i don't ask what is that ... how is work... etc. :)   My lab Prof wants a report about ' what is the difference between power supplies  with details' . Actually i am about to finish this report i explain at great length: number of channels, maximum power& voltage&current limits, noise effect, resolution , programmable capabilities etc.  But i am confused about one subject - Why we need different level outputs? If we compare Rigol DP832A and DP821A power supplies , one of them gives 30V/3A x2 and second of them gives 60V/1A & 8V/10A . I think it can not be the only reason to choose to have high current or high voltage, am i right? What is the reason of this difference ? Also if we use op-amp , we may need two voltage level like +12 and -12, how can give this voltages to op-amp with Rigol DP821A because it's max voltage level is 8. Obviously i confused about this issue and i don't find sufficient information. Thanks for all reply...  ::)

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
Re: About power supplies
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2017, 03:54:33 am »
But i am confused about one subject - Why we need different level outputs? If we compare Rigol DP832A and DP821A power supplies , one of them gives 30V/3A x2 and second of them gives 60V/1A & 8V/10A . I think it can not be the only reason to choose to have high current or high voltage, am i right?
It pretty much is the only reason. It appeals to users who want the option of higher voltage, and higher current, without buying two separate power supply units. You could test a 60V VFD at the same time as a 10A battery charger, for example.